Learning to use my voice

I asked a friend the other day what my next blog post should be about. I ask this question to a lot of friends because I lack inspiration these days. The response I got this time was different from any other one before. This friend didn’t know I blogged and they didn’t know what I blogged about. So the topics they chose were all informational learning blogs… Which is not me at all. I don’t think I could write an informational learning post to save my life… Unless it’s about movie quotes just go to the category archive and click on movie quotes. Or ask my brother about our movie quote wars.

Anywho all that to say it got me thinking about why I blog. In the last four years or so of having my blog it has morphed a couple of times. I started it to keep people from Oregon and California updated on my life in Texas, the posts were few and far between with updates about life. Then I got into a blogging groove. I was blogging 3-5 times a week about I don’t even know what. Then in the last two years I’ve gone back to few and far between posts.

Reason why? I struggle to use my voice. I didn’t realize I had a voice until my advanced writing course in college. The conversation went something like this “But I don’t have a voice so I can’t write it out,” -me “Just write it out,” -my professor “But I don’t have a voice,” -me “Just write it out.” -my professor. Then that evening in my room staring at a blank word document the light bulb clicked. I had a voice, I was using it to tell her I didn’t have a voice, so I could use it to just write it out. There began my journey to learning how to use my voice.

But that’s just what it is… a journey… One that I’m still very far from the destination. Some days I’m better than others. So how does this relate to my blog? Well the year I was in my blogging groove? I wasn’t struggling to use my voice. I was doing really well. Then I let my insecurities take back over and I fell. I stopped using voice in real life and then it filtered in to my blog as well.

But I’m tired of letting the fears and insecurities win. Because in reality they’ve already lost thanks to Jesus’ death on the cross. So here is to a new year learning to use my voice and living in the victory of the cross.blog

 

 

2 thoughts on “Learning to use my voice

  1. Good for you! It’s a real struggle to see what makes you you and how to express that. I came across this C.S. Lewis post on Pinterest and I just love it:
    “I would rather be what God chose to make me than the most glorious creature I could think of; for to have been thought about, born in God’s thought and then made by God, is the dearest, grandest, and most precious thing in all thinking.”
    -Alli

  2. “But I’m tired of letting the fears and insecurities win. Because in reality they’ve already lost thanks to Jesus’ death on the cross. So here is to a new year learning to use my voice and living in the victory of the cross.”
    Cheering you on, Juliann! (from another Texan)

    Donna
    visiting from Faith and Fellowship Blog Hop

Leave a Reply

