Mornings…

I decided about 3 months ago (maybe longer) that I wanted to be one of those people who gets up way before they need to and just has time to “be” in the mornings. To drink a cup of coffee (or orange juice or hot apple cider in my case), to read the newspaper, to read the Bible, or to do whatever else people do in the mornings. It just seemed like a better way to start the day.

So every week night for the past 3 months I have set my alarm for a full half hour before I actually needed to be up. I figured a half hour was a good starting point. Not too little time, but not too much time either. And every week night for the past three months I’ve gone to sleep with great expectations about how I will get up when my alarm goes off, no ifs, ands, or buts about it…

I have failed every single morning. I have not once gotten up when that alarm goes off. Most mornings I decide I’ll snooze for 15 more minutes and then I’ll have 15 minutes of extra time to “be”. And when that fifteen minutes is up I decide to snooze again until I actually need to be up. About a month and a half ago I decided ok I’ll get up and get ready first and then have my time to “be” after I finish getting ready. Thinking that maybe that would help me get up when that alarm went off… Nope didn’t help.

It’s not that I’m not a morning person. Because once I’m up and showered or ready I’m pretty perky. I used to work at 6am at Jack in the Box in the drive through and customer’s would ask me all the time how I was so perky and nice that early in the morning. When I lived in Portland sometimes I would wake up at 5:42am be at work on the headset at 6am and still be that perky. So not being a morning person isn’t the problem.

I guess I just like my sleep in the mornings. And would rather have more sleep than time to “be”. But am I going to give up setting my alarm for a full half hour before I need to be up? No… Because maybe tomorrow will be the day I actually get up…. Or the next day… Or someday soon…. So I’m keeping that option open!

Leave a Reply

