Hopelessly Devoted

Welcome to the post I’ve been waiting all week to write! My 2013 Devoted To’s! I’m not really a fan of making new years resolutions, mostly because I stink at keeping them. Also I don’t want the reason I’m doing these things to be because I made a resolution. The things that I chose are things that I really want to be devoted to. I want them to be as much a part of my life as sleeping, eating, or breathing are.

1. Read through the Bible in a year. There are so many reasons for this one. The Lord has given us His word to learn about Him, His ways, His commands, His LOVE, His GRACE, His MERCY, His lovingkindness, His Hope, etc. It’s there to guide and direct us, to encourage and convict us, to strengthen and give hope, etc. The reasons to be consistently be in His word are bountiful. But lately I haven’t been in His word all that often. I’ve been stinking it up when it comes to that. Right before the new year my friend Chad had shared this on Facebook (click on the word this for the link). And that coupled with the work the Lord was already doing on my heart about this led me to actually get back into the Word.
I really want to be devoted to studying His word often and consistently. So I started a read through the Bible in a year reading plan. I have the you-version app on my phone and they have lots of different plans to choose from. I chose one that reads the Old and New Testaments simultaneously. I am not simply reading through just to get it done. I am studying as I go, although it is not a deep study, it’s still a study.

2. To Pray hard for others. The reason for this one put simply: Because the Lord has been leading me to do this for quite some time. I believe in the power of prayer. And in the past few months I have seen the Lord answer prayer after prayer after prayer.
In this last month and a half the Lord has been calling me to live out my belief. To be encouraged by all the prayers I’ve seen Him answer. And to pray hard for others. And to be honest, I’m not the greatest at this. I always have good intentions, and I start off well, but then slowly go downhill… But I don’t want to do that anymore. I want to be devoted to praying hard for others. Devoted to living out my belief that there is power in prayer, and that the Lord answers prayer. So what am I doing to be devoted to praying hard for others? Well so far I’ve just been praying for other’s whenever I pray and asking the Lord to show me who and what to pray for. I’m still thinking about what else to do to be devoted to it. So I’ll keep you posted! And if you have any suggestions I’d be happy to hear them!

So there you have my devoted to’s for 2013. But unlike the title, I am not hopelessly devoted to these. I’m not devoted to them for no reason, or without hope that they will do good. I am hope-full devoted!

One thought on “Hopelessly Devoted

  1. Praying for others is much greater than praying for yourself. If you ask God to tell you who to pray for He will. It feels wonderful later when you hear someone was having a hard time and you didn’t know it but He had told you to pray for them. Keeping it your own little secret is much more fun, but sometimes you need to let them know you were praying for them because God had led you to, your heart will tell you the difference. Ok, I guess its not your heart, its the Holy Spirit!

Leave a Reply

