As the years go by

11 years ago today I got up and got ready like any other morning. I left my house to walk across the street to my best friends house like any other morning. I saw another neighbor walking down the street to another neighbors house like any other morning. We stopped to talk to each other like any other morning. Except that’s where it ceased to be like any other mornings.

He began to tell me of two airplanes flying into the Twin Towers in New York that morning. And I stared at him in disbelief and confusion. He was talking quickly and I had no idea what he was talking about. He saw the questioning look on my face and tried to explain again. I still didn’t really understand. I couldn’t believe what he was saying. He told me it was all over the news.

We went our separate ways. I went into my best friends house to wait for her to finish getting ready. I sat and played with her little sister. All the while thinking about that strange conversation I just had with my neighbor. Then we left for the bus stop down the street.

It wasn’t until we got to school and school started that I finally understood what my neighbor had been telling me. On the morning broadcast they told us about the attack and showed some of the footage. Everything my neighbor had told me finally made sense. Well at least I comprehended what the words said, but what happened still didn’t make sense.

I think most of us can remember where we were when we found out about 9/11.  Let us never forget.

Leave a Reply

