Promises

Hi There! I hope y’all had a good weekend. I know I did! I’ll probably tell you all about it tomorrow. But first I want to share with you about my drive to church on Sunday.

I was driving along singing the worship songs playing on the radio to the Lord. Enjoying the partly sunny sky, because I knew it was just a matter of time before the clouds overcame the sun and it started raining again.

So here I was with my little heart so sad from all the clouds and rain. I was missing the sun (even though it was out at the moment), missing the warmth that brings (not that it’s been cold, it’s just the sun has a warmth that isn’t felt when covered by clouds). I was trying and trying to be ok with all the rain, knowing we needed it. But I was failing miserably, and was complaining about all the rain a lot!

When all of a sudden I look to my left and see a rainbow! I haven’t seen a rainbow in a very long time. Even with all the rain we have gotten here this year so far, no rainbow sightings for me. And not only was it my first rainbow in quite a long time it was a full on ROY-G-BIV (red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo, violet) rainbow. You could see all of the colors clearly. It was breathtaking! (I have only seen a handful of full ROY-G-BIV rainbows in my life). Then it as I kept driving and glancing over to see it, it turned into a double rainbow.

Sorry the picture doesn’t do it justice. It was taken through a window with an iPhone.

And then as I kept driving the first rainbow turned into a full sky rainbow. For reals it just kept getting prettier. And as I’m enjoying these views on my way to church the Lord reminded me of the promise that rainbows are reminders of.

Genesis 9:12-16 (NIV, taken from www.biblegateway.com)

12 And God said, “This is the sign of the covenant I am making between me and you and every living creature with you, a covenant for all generations to come: 13 I have set my rainbow in the clouds, and it will be the sign of the covenant between me and the earth. 14 Whenever I bring clouds over the earth and the rainbow appears in the clouds, 15 I will remember my covenant between me and you and all living creatures of every kind. Never again will the waters become a flood to destroy all life. 16 Whenever the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and all living creatures of every kind on the earth.”

I just felt the Lord so clearly speaking to me and my sad little heart through this rainbow appearing in the sky. Reminding me of His promise that He would never flood the earth to destroy all life again, that the rain will subside at some point, and the sun will shine again. Telling me to REMEMBER His promise, to take COMFORT in His promise.

And my sad little heart wasn’t so sad anymore! What an awesome God we have!

One thought on “Promises

  1. Pingback: 2012 In Review | Juliann The Texan

Leave a Reply

