Haircut

So as ya’ll know, I chopped off my hair this weekend. I did not tell very many people I was chopping it off. So I thought I would share with ya’ll how chopping off my hair came about (considering I’ve wanted it long and to keep getting longer the last 2 years).

I was no longer happy with this

I was tired of the curls. In this picture they look pretty good. But 99 out of 100 days they did not look like this. They were frizzy, gross, tangly, and all around a pain in the but. I never wanted to wear my hair down because I didn’t think it looked good. I was tired of curls.

Also I didn’t feel like the long curly was “me” anymore. I have changed a lot in the past couple years and the long curls were just not doing it for the new me. But…

I loved this and wanted this:

Like loved loved this! It was great. But this took at bare minimum 2 hours. (That includes washing it, blow drying it “straight” and then straightening it). And that was on a very good day. Most times it took around 2 and a 1/2- 3 hours. And that was just too much time for me. And with trying to run 3 days a week and having to wash my hair after I run because a. I get nasty sweaty, and b. it would have been curly anyways from the sweat, it would just be way way too much time. I wasn’t willing to put that much time into doing my hair.

So I was torn. I wanted it long, but I was really sick of curls. And then one day a few weeks ago my best friend Normy and I were skyping and she started trying to convince me to get bangs (like old school straight across). I told her to think back to 8th grade when I tried that and they looked terrible. She proceeded to tell me everyone looks terrible in 8th grade and straight bangs are in style right now. I was not convinced. So she took a picture of me and went to this make-over site and tried putting them on me, and she sent me the picture. And I was right, they looked terrible!

But she had made a back up plan just as a joke, but it turned out looking really cute. It was this girl’s hair

And it looked sooo cute (minus the color, I would want it chocolate brown). It was a little hardcore rocker chick though and I didn’t know if I could pull it off. So I put the idea out of my mind for awhile. But everytime I would wash my hair and put mouse in to try to tame the curls, the idea would pop back into my mind.

So for a couple weeks I kept trying to convince myself not to get it. And finally I realized I couldn’t actually convince myself to not get it. So I called and made a hair appointment. And I was so excited about it. I could not wait to chop off my hair. The appointment was not for a week and a half though. But seriously until the day and a half before I was excited and could not wait. The last day and a half I was a little nervous about it but knew I would still go through with it.

And I did. I did not even cry when she cut off all the little ponytails for locks of love (however this is my third time cutting lots of inches off for locks of love so that was no big deal). I also didn’t cry when she was chopping the rest of it off. It was so much fun!

I love love love love love love my new hair. (I did have her dye it back to chocolate brown as well.) It fits me so well. And blow-drying and straightening will not take 3 hours :). I also know it isn’t the same cut as that girls above, but I love it still. It’s great!

One thought on “Haircut

Leave a Reply

