Thoughts on Hebrews Ch. 1-3

So I have been studying Hebrews for the past week and a halfish. I want to write about some of my thoughts. Bare with me as they are not fully formulated and may not make sense. And now after two failed attempts at writing down my thoughts I decided I am going to go chapter by chapterish sharing my thoughts. Because Hebrews builds on itself very naturally. And knowing what the author said in the previous chapter helps you to grasp more fully what he is saying right then. So this might end up being multiple blogs but we shall see 🙂 So here goes:

Chapter 1-3

So God spoke to us before through the prophets and fathers but that wasn’t enough. So now He is speaking to us through His son. Then it describes who the Son is. “He is the radiance of His glory and the exact representation of His nature, and He upholds all things by the word of His power. When he had made purification of sins, He sat down at the right hand of the Majesty on High.” Then it describes how the Son is better than the angel’s. When I was reading this I was just amazed. I know the Lord is great and all that. But do I ever really just sit and marvel in and think about how great He is.

Then chapter two starts off by saying so because the Son is better than the angel’s and because He is the radiance of His glory we need to pay more attention to what He is saying. Then it comes to verse 10. With verse 10 I can’t even begin to describe how far blown my mind was. “For it was fitting for Him, for whom are all things, and through whom are all things, in bringing many sons to glory, to perfect the author of their salvation through suffings.” It was fitting for Jesus to come down here and suffer for us, to perfect our salvation. It was not out of his nature to do that. He loves us so much and is so good that it is fitting for Him to come down and suffer for us. Suffer for the sins that we commit. Suffer for us rebelling against Him. How amazing is that? I don’t think we fully understand the weight of this. I know for sure I don’t. Because if I did I would be on my knees before Him a whole lot more. That in and of itself its way more than enough reason to give our lives to Him and follow hard after Him to do His will. Just the fact that He created us is enough. Then because He is so good he comes down to suffer for us. I want this to change how I live life. I want to fully give Him my life and never take it back. I want to follow hard after Him and live my life for His glory.

As if creating us and then coming to suffer for us wasn’t enough. Then comes verse 14 how he rendered powerless the devil. The devil has no power over us anymore if we are in Christ. Do we live like this? If we really believed this and lived it out think how much we could be doing for the Lord.

Verse 18 because He was temped he can come to the aid of those who are tempted. He suffered just like us. He knows what it feels like and can come to our aid and comfort us help us and all of that in the midst of it all.

Chapter three starts with a therefore. This therefore is a in light of everything I just said in the previous two chapters. Therefore consider Jesus. I just told you a whole bunch about who He is, how he is greater than the angel’s, how it was fitting for him to come suffer for us, how he rendered powerless the devil, how he can come to our aid when we are tempted becuase he himself was tempted, because God spoke to us through Him, because He is fully God and fully Human (I know i didnt touch on that but both are in there in the first two chapters). Because of all of this consider Jesus.

It is almost as if he knows there will be more objection to considering Jesus. because then he goes back into explaining how great He is. He brings up how He has more glory and honor than Moses. He paints the picture of Moses and the people know how great Moses was and then says how much better Jesus is. 3:5-6 ” Now Moses was faithful in all His house as a servant, for a testimony of those things which were to be spoken later; but Christ was faithful as a Son over His house- whose hosue we are, if we hold fast our confidence and the boast of our hope firm until the end.”

Then another therefore, so in light of that right there, don’t let your hearts be hardened. Encourage each other so that you do not harden your heart against Jesus and his words. Then it talks about the Israelites and how they heard from the Lord but then they chose to harden their hearts and didn’t get to enter His rest. The author has just said a lot about Jesus and who He is and a little of what He did, and is saying don’t be like them and harden your heart against it.

I think I’ll stop there for now. When I was studying through I had to stop right there. I could not go on any further. I had to stop and just sit with all of that information. I want it to change me. I don’t want to live my life for me anymore, not when this is who the Lord is. He is so great and amazing and loves us so much. I just want to share that with people. I want to tell people how amazing He is and tell them about His love and all of that. I want those who are suffering and hurting to know what is said in these three chapters. I want this knowledge of how amazing the Lord is to really soak in and I want to fully grasp what it means. I know that on this earth I will probably never fully grasp it but I don’t want that to stop me from trying.

Leave a Reply

